The New Myspace *UPDATED

After watching Justing Timberlake’s appearance  in ‘The Social Network‘, I just find it natural that he’s taken the same wave and decided to buy Myspace. Yes, Myspace. I remember spending hours just to find the perfect template to my Myspace page, and of course, I remember the always welcoming picture of Tom, Myspace creator (I’m sure you do too). It was a time when hi5 kept growing with people, and Myspace was the upgraded alternative (specially in the Dominican Republic, because if you had a Myspace, you were considered ‘un montro’ or in english, the ‘real deal’). But at one point, Facebook also became popular here, even thought I remember it was hard to create an account, because you could not be underage and you had to belong to a school network -and my school didn’t have one. Slowly, all my friends moved from hi5 to facebook. So did I, and that was it. We also forgot about Myspace, as days passed.

facebook-2007

I remember going back to Myspace JUST because that was the only place I could listen to a song. I spent months trying to find it, because it is sang by a local band. I loved ‘Por siempre XXI’, so I bookmarked the address. I could play it any time I wanted (It is not the best song -really- but if you want, you should give it a try). That’s one of the greatest things about Myspace, that made it different from other social networks, and clearly earned the first spot in popularity for bands and artists in the making.

Screen shot 2013-01-11 at 15.42.50

Well, I have to confess that at first it was a surprise. I had to enter right away when I knew Justin Timberlake (my publicly secret love) had something to do with it. Around september, I signed for an invite.

Screen shot 2013-01-11 at 15.24.12

Finally, he announced on twitter today that his new single is available through the New Myspace. The tweet I’ve been waiting for. Right after the gym, came to my office and opened my New Myspace account.

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 09.28.27

Connect with me here!!!!! Right away, I uploaded my CoverMix image. I like the simple view of the comments, info and connections. This design is NEAT.

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 09.48.09

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 09.48.24

Fell in love inmediately. It is just different.

Screen shot 2013-01-11 at 15.28.59

As you can see, there is more importance to the pictures than to the text. Just how I think things should be in these times. I think it will be very appealing to photographers, designers and artists. What I like about it, is the resemblance to pinterest and tumbler with the focus of facebook details. On the downside, I think it will be difficult to adapt to the horizontal scrolling (but if I had to, I’d leave Facebook for it). NOT A PROBLEM! I adapted quickly. When I switched, found Facebook boring, old, obsolete.

Screen shot 2013-01-11 at 15.29.57

It has a cool non-invasive profile area, that allows you to see perfectly the posting area. It is definitely more visual than textual, and that’s one of the things I don’t like about Facebook at all. My news feed gets contaminated with comments and comments, when the main attraction should be images.

Screen shot 2013-01-11 at 15.29.08

On the downside, I clicked the ‘Discover’ button and found some interesting news. After I read them, didn’t know what to do with them. I wanted to share, like or something. But couldn’t find a button. Really need to do something with that, social networks are about sharing. 

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 10.10.20

The great layout is also helpful. It is not boring at all. Artists will remain to like Myspace to help grow their success. Justin Timberlake himself did it today. He launched his new single through the New Myspace, and you have to join to listen to it. 

Screen shot 2013-01-11 at 15.29.45

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 09.29.37

I also noticed the music bar in the lower part of the screen, which I find very interesting. I still don’t know if it will let you play music as you change pages (that would be great). As predicted, you can click and click, and even create a queue with the music you want to listen. TAKE THAT FACEBOOK!

Screen shot 2013-01-11 at 15.30.15

Stats: Very important. Businesses really make use of stats, because they can measure their social success with them. If stats are as shown in the video, I believe the visuals are stunning and will help to understand the behavior of the community in a very synthetic way. I wish they are really complex. Stats are crucial for a business, I’m glad they payed attention to it, unlike Pinterest. Haven’t checked the stats yet, but will very soon when I create a company page. Still, I like the connect button, and the affinity view, which tells you how much you share with a person in terms of interests.

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 09.37.25

Screen shot 2013-01-11 at 15.30.41

The new logo is much more simple. Definitely like it.

Screen shot 2013-01-11 at 15.31.29

You should sing up too! I have high expectations of the new Myspace. I received a mail from them, but they say it is not ready yet. Can’t wait!

GIVE IT A TRY!

The new Myspace from Myspace on Vimeo.

One response to “The New Myspace *UPDATED

  1. Admiring the persistence you put into your website and detailed information you offer.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material.
    Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

Comment please!

