Travel diaries: Sosúa

Greetings friends! We spent some of these holiday weekends in Sosúa, celebrating Christmas and Jakob‘s 21st birthday.

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4479

In the Dominican Republic, winter is almost like summer. There is just a slightly colder wind blowing, but we definitely enjoy hot chocolate just as if it were snowing (what do I know, I’ve never seen snow). Either way… GOOD!

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4465

Playa Santa was created a few years ago after an earthquake in Sosúa. I love coming here. There’s always a peaceful crowd, and it’s a good place to hang with friends.

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4762

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4735

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4741

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4745

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4747

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4734

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4749

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4754

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4757

Feel the sand between your toes! (I can see us holding hands, walking in the beach our toes in the sand… –this is me loving Justin Timberlake)

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4765

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4787

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4970

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4981

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4998

Happy birthday! You are globally legal.

mia_simo_pezmapache_-5020

mia_simo_pezmapache_-5025

mia_simo_pezmapache_-5027

Honestly, if you can’t see her huge bruise, I’ve got news for you: YOU ARE BLIND!

mia_simo_pezmapache_-5030

This is el Parque Mirador Sosúa, built two years ago as a memoir for the jewish settlers of the town. I like it, the only problem comes at noon, when the sun is so bright that the floor barely lets you see (maybe that’s why I went blind). But the park is perfect for watching the sunset. If you ever come here, I recommend it!

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4726

This is just an example of how it looks.

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4736

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4743

Let me tell you, these dramatic colors are also complemented with a lighter landscape of silver-ish colors (I think that’s why it’s called Puerto Plata -Silver Port/Pier-, because Colombus said the water reflected colors  in a very peculiar way. This next picture was taken the same day, just a few degrees (and minutes) around the same spot I was standing when I took the previous picture.

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4807

Sometimes you have to find the beauty in ugliness. This tree looks so fine with that green stuff growing on it.

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4514

I’m sorry, I just can’t get over this sunset.

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4739

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4793

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4795

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4798

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4803

This huge lollypop caught my attention right when I saw it. I knew I had to get it! Found it at Ágora Mall (Santo Domingo).

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4824

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4919

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4938

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4939

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4940

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4947

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4951

I came back home in a bus. It’s interesting to pass by the side towns, you find a lot of people doing all kinds of stuff. But wow, it is so hard to take pictures! The bus moves too fast!

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4590

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4592

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4597

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4608

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4614

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4615

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4624

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4626

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4632

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4633

I’m almost sure he was modeling for me!

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4644

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4645

I hope to take more and more pictures each time I travel. Recently I’ve seen some pretty amazing blogs, and I have to say… I’m inspired!

mia_simo_pezmapache_-4959

Comment please!

